Libya 2011 Constitution (reviewed 2012)


Article 1

Libya shall be an independent democratic state in which the people shall be the source of all powers. Its capital shall be Tripoli, Islam shall be its religion and Islamic Shari’a shall be the main source of legislation. The State shall guarantee for non-Muslims the freedom to practice their religious rituals. Arabic shall be the official language, while the linguistic and cultural rights of the Amazigh, the Tabous, the Touareg and the other components of the Libyan society shall be guaranteed.

Article 2

The emblem of the state and its national anthem shall be determined by statute.

Article 3

The national flag shall have the following shape and dimensions: its length shall be twice its width; it shall be divided into three parallel colored stripes with the uppermost being red, the centre black and the lowest green. The black stripe shall be equal in size to the two other stripes and shall bear in its centre a white crescent, between the two ends of which there shall be a five- pointed white star.

Article 4

The state shall endeavor to establish a political democratic system based on political pluralism and a [multi-] party system, with the aim of realizing the peaceful democratic alternation in power.

Article 5

Family shall be the basis of society and shall be protected by the State. The State shall protect and encourage marriage. The State shall guarantee the protection of motherhood, Childhood and old age and look after children, young people and persons with special needs.

Article 6

Libyans shall be equal before the law, enjoy equal civil and political rights with, have the same opportunities in all areas and be subject to the same public duties and obligations, without distinction on the grounds of religion, belief, language, wealth, gender, kinship, political opinions, social status, or tribal, regional or familial adherence.