Lesotho 1993 Constitution (reviewed 2018)

Table of Contents


1. The Kingdom and its territory

  1. Lesotho shall be a sovereign democratic kingdom.
  2. The territory of Lesotho shall comprise all the areas that immediately before 4th October 1966 were comprised in the former Colony of Basutoland together with such other areas as may from time to time be declared by an Act of Parliament to form part of Lesotho.

2. The Constitution

This Constitution is the supreme law of Lesotho and if any other law is inconsistent with this Constitution, that other law shall, to the extent of the inconsistency, be void.

3. Official languages, National Seal, etc

  1. The official languages of Lesotho shall be Sesotho and English and, accordingly, no instrument or transaction shall be invalid by reason only that it is expressed or conducted in one of those languages.
  2. Subject to the provisions of this section, the National Seal of Lesotho shall be such device, and the national anthem and national flag shall be such anthem and flag, as the case may be, as may be prescribed by or under an Act of Parliament.
  3. A bill for an Act of Parliament for the purposes of this section shall not be presented to the King for assent unless it is supported at the final voting in the National Assembly by the votes of no less than two-thirds of all the members of the National Assembly.