Liechtenstein 1921 Constitution (reviewed 2011)

Table of Contents


We, John II, by the Grace of God, Prince Regnant of Liechtenstein, Duke of Troppau, Count of Rietberg, etc. etc. etc. make known that the Constitution of 26 September 1862 has been modified by Us with the assent of Our Parliament as follows:


Article 1

  1. The Principality of Liechtenstein is a State consisting of two regions with eleven communes. It is based upon the principle of enabling the people residing within its borders to live in peace and freedom. The region of Vaduz (Oberland) consists of the communes of Vaduz, Balzers, Planken, Schaan, Triesen and Triesenberg; the region of Schellenberg (Unterland) consists of the communes of Eschen, Gamprin, Mauren, Ruggell and Schellenberg.
  2. Vaduz is the capital and the seat of Parliament and the Government.

Article 2

The Principality is a constitutional, hereditary monarchy on a democratic and parliamentary basis (Art. 79 and 80); the power of the State is inherent in and issues from the Prince Regnant and the People and shall be exercised by both in accordance with the provisions of the present Constitution.

Article 3

The succession to the throne, hereditary in the Princely House of Liechtenstein, the coming-of-age of the Prince Regnant and of the Heir Apparent, as well as any guardianship which may be required, are to be determined by the Princely House in the form of a dynasty law.

Article 4

  1. Changes in the boundaries of the territory of the State may only be made by a law. Boundary changes between communes and the union of existing ones also require a majority decision of the citizens residing there who are entitled to vote.
  2. Individual communes have the right to secede from the State. A decision to initiate the secession procedure shall be taken by a majority of the citizens residing there who are entitled to vote. Secession shall be regulated by a law or, as the case may be, a treaty. In the latter event, a second ballot shall be held in the commune after the negotations have been completed.

Article 5

The coat of arms of the State is that of the Princely House of Liechtenstein; the national colours are blue and red.

Article 6

The German language is the national and official language.