Mexico 1917 Constitution (reviewed 2015)

Table of Contents

CHAPTER II. Composition of the Federation and Mexican Territory

Article 42

National territory is composed of:

  1. The territory belonging to the states.
  2. The territory of islands, including the reefs and cays in adjacent seas.
  3. The territory of the islands of Guadalupe and Revillagigedo located in the Pacific Ocean.
  4. The continental shelf and the seabed of the islands, cays and reefs.
  5. The waters of the territorial seas in the extension and under the terms established by the International Law and domestic maritime laws.
  6. The air space located above national territory, in the extension and with the particularities established by the International Law.

Article 43

The Mexican territory is comprised of the following states: Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Campeche, Coahuila de Zaragoza, Colima, Chiapas, Chihuahua, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, State of Mexico, Michoacán, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosí, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Veracruz, Yucatán, Zacatecas and the Federal District.

Article 44

The Mexico City is the Federal District and the capital of the United Mexican States. Mexico City is seat of the federal government and the Powers of the Union. It shall be integrated by its current territory and in the event that federal government has to be moved to another place, Mexico City will be a part of the State of Valle de México. The Congress shall set down the limits and territorial extension for the new State.

Article 45

The states will keep their current borders and extensions, as long as there is not a controversy about it.

Article 46

The States can deal with their respective limits by friendly agreements among each other at any time; however, these arrangements will not be effective without the approval of the Senate.

Should there not be an agreement referred in the above paragraph, and at the request of any of the conflicting parties, the Supreme Court of Justice of the Nation will know, substantiate and resolve with an unassailable capacity, disputes on territory limits that take place between States, and under the terms of section I of article 105 of this Constitution.

Article 47

The State of Nayarit shall have the territorial area and boundaries that presently comprise the territory of Tepic.

Article 48

Federal government shall be in charge of: a) all the islands, cays and reefs within the adjacent seas belonging to national territory; b) the continental shelf; c) the seabed of islands, cays and reefs; d) territorial seas; e) inland maritime waters and f) the space located above the national territory; except by the islands that belong to the states.