Belgium 1831 Constitution

Table of Contents


In the name of the Belgian people, the National Congress decrees:

TITLE I. Territory and its Divisions

Article 1

Belgium is divided into provinces. These provinces are: Antwerp, Brabant, East Flanders, West Flanders, Hainaut, Liege, Limbourg, Luxembourg, Namur, except the relations of Luxembourg with the German Confederation.

The territory may be divided by law into a greater number of provinces.

Article 2

Subdivisions of the provinces can be established only by law.

Article 3

The boundaries of the State, of the provinces and of the communes can only be changed or rectified by law.